Mamata creates history in Bengal: Jaya repeats it in Tamilnadu

Posted on by iSikkim | Category: Featured Post Politics Slider Post | 374 views | 0 Comments

Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee has lost election in Jadavpur. CPI (M) stalwart Asim Dasgupta has lost in Khardah. Urban Development minister Ashok BhattacharyaMamata has lost election in Siliguri. The list is increasing. Mamata Banerjee has done it. It’s political 9/11 for Bengal Communists in particular and Communist in India in general. Bengal has transformed from Red (Communists) to Green (Trinamool).

Everyone expected a victory for Trinamool in Bengal and a rout of the Communists but the sheer scale of it is unprecedented. Till last updates came in Trinamool has already won 90 seats and is leading in 129 seats. That gives her party a plus in 167 seats compared to the performance in last assembly election. Overall it’s 225 seats on which Trinamool is marching towards victory. That’s closer to 3/4th majority in Bengal Assembly which has more than 7 crore voters.

After 1977, there has never been a victory so expected and yet so unexpected. Hundreds of supporters had started thronging the Trinamool office since early morning on Friday in anticipation of a historic rout of West Bengal’s ruling Left Front. And now they have more than just reasons to celebrate. Trinamool Congress has moved beyond the magic half-way number of 148 on its own.

Every nook and corner of the South Kolkata locality has been decorated with giant cardboard cutouts of Mamata Di and the “two leaves”, election symbol of Trinamool Congress. The streets have been flourished with green-coloured lights and flags.

The massive 80+ percent turnout West Bengal witnessed in the six-phase election was indeed a wave in favour of Trinamool. And now Mamata Banerjee is set to become the first women and first non-Left chief minister of West Bengal since the Marxists took power in 1977.

In Tamilnadu the Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK is back with vengeance and heading for a sweep. Till results last came in AIADMK had established leads in 198 seats in the 234-member House. Jayalalithaa will be Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the third time after decimating the 2G Scam hit DMK. Amma’s party has captured power in Puducherry also winning 19 out of 28 seats.

Even luck didn’t favour the Left parties in Kerala either. It has fell two seats short of majority, exactly the number Congress led alliance gained. Although, the stability of UDF will always be an issue given the dubious partners it has. UDF won 72 seats while LDF settled at 68 in the 140 assembly Kerala house.

In Assam, the ruling Congress is set to be back in power for the third time in a row. In the 126 assembly Assam house, the ruling party under the leadership of Tarun Gogoi has already won 52 seats and is leading in 25 others. The real losers have been Asom Gana Parishad and BJP. AGP has won just 7 seats, 14 less than its tally in 2006 assembly elections. BJP has hit the bottom with just 2 seats in its kitty till now.

A total of 14.16 crore voters exercised their franchise in the five states. More than 1crore 80 lakh voters in Assam, almost 2.34 crore voters in Kerala and more than 7.14 crore voters in West Bengal were eligible to vote in this election.

Mamata Banerjee has moved on her way to Raj Bhawan to stake claim to form the new government in West Bengal and so have Jayalalitha and Tarun Gogoi.

For the Communist, these are difficult days. Their difficulties doesn’t seem to be getting over soon either.

Related Stories

Party time for Trinamool camp in West Bengal
Mamata Banerjee: From Kolkata girl to Bengal CM
Tarun Gogoi becomes the Chief Minister for third time



Leave a Reply




Is Delhi Police friendly towards the people of North East states?

  • Can't Say (100%)
  • Yes (0%)
  • No (0%)
Loading ... Loading ...