Gorkha Janmukti Morcha definite about their win in GTA elections

Posted on by iSikkim | Category: Politics Slider Post | 376 views | 0 Comments

Alpha Thapa

Darjeeling, 31 July 2012:

Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) definite about their win in the Gorkhaland Territorial Administration (GTA) elections is now all set to celebrate its victory. The GJM Central Committee Assistant Secretary, Binay Tamang while addressing the media today informed that the Morcha will be celebrating their historic win soon after the oath taking ceremony scheduled to be held on August 04, 2012 at Chowrasta.

The GJM has already won 28 seats uncontested and the win over the remaining 17 seats is crystal-clear, announced Tamang who is also one of the uncontested winners of the GTA elections from Bloomfield Rishihat Constituency. “All of us are happy with the elections,” he stated.

The uncontested GJM candidate from Darjeeling Sadar 1 Constituency also the Naari Morcha Core Committee President, Asha Gurung confident over the GJM’s win assured that the GTA shall give its first priority to the development of the hills along with the development of the Terai- Dooars region. The political parties such as the Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League (ABGL), Communist Party of India Marxist (CPIM), Gorkha National Liberation Front (GNLF) etc. only talked about development but they could do nothing. But as far as GJM is concerned, the development work shall start from the grass root level, she added. “All the issues of the public shall be looked upon,” she said. “Though we have attained GTA, still our main aim is yet to be fulfilled, i.e. Gorkhaland. Through smooth running of GTA we shall prove that we are worth of Gorkhaland,” concluded Gurung

The uncontested candidate winners include GJM Chief Bimal Gurung from Tukbar Constituency, Naari Morcha President, Asha Gurung from Darjeeling Sadar 1 Constituency, Prakash Gurung from Rimbick Lodhoma Constituency, Satish Pokhrel from Relling Kaijalia Constituency, Kaziman Luhagan from Pul Bijanbari Goke Constituency, Binay Tamang from Bloomfield Rishihat Constituency,Deo Prakash Pradhan from Leabong Badamtam Constituency, Pradip Pradhan from Phoobsering Pandam Constituency, Urmila Rumba from Darjeeling Sadar 2 Constituency, Shanti Chettri from Darjeeling Sadar 3 Constituency, Uday Dewan from Sukhia Manaybhanjyang Constituency, Jyoti Kumar Rai from Nagari Dhajia Constituency, Rabindra Lama from Rungbull Dhotria Constituency, Mahendra Pradhan from Sonada Pacheyang Constituency, Sanjay Thulung from Takdah Glenburn Constituency, Ramesh Lama from Taklin Peshok Constituency, Narbu G Lama from Takdah Teesta valley Constituency and Ratan Thapa from Mungpoo Labdah Constituency, Anush Thapa from Tung St. Mary’s Constituency, Yogendra Rai from Kurseong town Deorali Constituency, Anit Thapa from Kurseong Giddapahar Constituency, Pranay Thapa from Pankhabari Ambootia Longview Constituency, Prabha Chettri from Mahanadi Tindharia, Roshan Giri from Sittong Latpanchar Constituency, Nima Tamang from Homes Bhalukhop Constituency, Sunil Pradhan from Bong Durpin Constituency, Col. Ramesh Allay from Dungra Puding Constituency and Gopal Rujal from Rongpo Munsong Constituency. The results of the elections held in the remaining 17 Constituencies will be declared on August 02 at Darjeeling Gorkha Rang Manch Bhawan.

Sikkim Mail



Leave a Reply

  • Gorkha Janmukti Morcha to contest GTA elections
  • Darjeeling: Gorkha Janmukti Morcha to observe Martyrs Day
  • Non-Gorkha Janmukti Morcha leaders meet Sikkim, WB MP
  • Darjeeling: “CP(I)M candidates withdraw after threatened by GJM”
  • The MOU between Gorkha Janmukti Morcha and Govt.




Is Delhi Police friendly towards the people of North East states?

  • Can't Say (100%)
  • Yes (0%)
  • No (0%)
Loading ... Loading ...