Rajiv Gandhi Akshay Urja Diwas celebrated in Sikkim

Posted on by iSikkim | Category: Environment Slider Post | 262 views | 0 Comments

Gangtok, August 21, 2012:

“The State government has been working and putting its best efforts in making Sikkim, a poverty free cum self reliant State by 2015”, stated the Secretary for Rural Management Development Department (RMDD), DR Nepal during the Rajiv Gandhi Akshay Urja Diwas- 2012, who chaired the day as the chief guest. The said occasion conducted today at the Janta Bhawan was organized by the Sikkim Renewable Energy Agency and sponsored by New Renewable Energy, SREDA.

Addressing the gathering, the chief guest in his brief speech, firstly appreciated the steps taken by the organizer and was also pleased to see the student’s participation in the occasion. Speaking about Rajiv Gandhi Akshay Urja Diwas, the Secretary stated that Late Rajiv Gandhi, as we all know is considered as the modern architect who always worked towards the development of the country and hence, every Indian should have respect for him and also contribute towards his desired dream of making India a prosperous country.

Highlighting the Hydel Power Projects (HPP) in the State, Secretary Nepal informed that, about 516 HPPs has been running in Sikkim and the setting up of these projects is positive steps taken by the Government keeping in mind the betterment of the State.

The Director for SREDA, Siphora Grace Targain spoke about the activities of SREDA, and the projects which have been completed in the four districts of Sikkim. Targain, mentioned that the Government of India has also appreciated SREDA’s works and projects being implemented in the State.

Also during the programme, painting, model making and renewal energy competitions were also conducted in which total of 80 students from about 8 Schools participated. Tulsi Karki of Tadong SSS was adjudged as the winner of the painting competition followed by Yash Raj Rasaily of TNA and Nabed Rehman of Kendraliya Vidhyalaya in the 2nd and 3rd place. Likewise, in the model making competition, PNGSSS, Deorali SSS and Enchey SSS stood 1st, 2nd and 3rd, respectively. Suyojana Mukhia of TNA, Ritika Dahal of PNGSSS and Sonam Wangchuk Bhutia of TNSSS were the winners of the renewal competition. These winners were awarded cash prizes along with certificates. Later a quiz contest among the students was also conducted.

The judges of the said competitions were Panchayat Director CM Pradhan, Special Secretary, RMDD Dr. Sandeep Tambe, Chief Engineer, UD&HD, CP Tongden and Assistant Engineer, Power and Energy Cell, Binay Lama.

Sikkim Mail



Leave a Reply




Is Delhi Police friendly towards the people of North East states?

  • Can't Say (100%)
  • Yes (0%)
  • No (0%)
Loading ... Loading ...