D V Sadananda Gowda will be the new CM of Karnataka

Posted on by iSikkim | Category: Politics Slider Post | 273 views | 1 Comment

Lok Sabha member from Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency DV Sadananda Gowda will be the next chief minister of Karnataka.

In a secret ballot Gowda got 63 votes in his favour and Jagadish Shettar got 55.

Karnataka’s legislators’ met at a hotel to pick a successor to outgoing chief minister Yeddyurappa among the two contenders DV Sadananda Gowda and Rural development minister Jagadish Shettar.

According to reports, media persons were not allowed in but slogans for and against Yeddyurappa, Gowda and Shettar could be heard outside. There was jostling among the legislators, said party officials who came out even as the noisy meeting was on.

The central observers stressed on maintaining peace and reminded the legislators of the damage the developments of the past one week have inflicted on the party’s image in their brief speeches.

Yeddyurappa had quit as Karnataka chief minister reluctantly on Sunday, days after the Santosh Hegde report on illegal mining severely indicted him and his family.



Leave a Reply




Is Delhi Police friendly towards the people of North East states?

  • Can't Say (100%)
  • Yes (0%)
  • No (0%)
Loading ... Loading ...